A QUICK LOOK AT GOOGLE INBOX

image

A few weeks ago I managed to get
my hands on Google’s new app,
Inbox . So far I love it, but it’s not
quite ready to be my go-to email
app for a few reasons.
First, let’s start off with the good.
The UI is faster and smoother than
the standard Gmail app. It is also
more one-hand friendly, which is a
necessity if you’re rocking the
Nexus 6 monstrosity. For example,
when you’re in an email, all you
need to do is swipe up to get back
to your inbox. The quick email
toggle in the bottom right is also
fantastic. I also love that Inbox
remembers who I last emailed and
gives me a quick option to email
them again.
One feature I’m on the fence about
is bundling. When you get an
email, Inbox will automatically
determine what category the email
should go in. For example, if you
get a flight confirmation it will
automatically put it in your travel
bundle. There are seven pre-set
bundles: travel, purchases, finance,
social, updates, forums and promos.
You do have the option to create
additional bundles with
customizable rules. So the daily
email update from your mom can
go straight to a bundle instead of
your inbox.
The reason I don’t like bundles is
because I like to be able to see all
my emails in the inbox, not in
separate groups that I have to
open. So right now I have the
bundling turned off. The fact that
Inbox is smart enough to know the
difference between the types of
emails I get is pretty awesome/
stalkerish.
The snooze feature is great. I have
been using a third-party plug-in to
handle snoozing, but now that it is
a built-in feature, snoozing is much
faster and more intuitive. Even the
location-based snoozing and
reminders work really well.
The desktop version of Inbox is a
big step up from Gmail in that it is
well-organized and intuitive. Not
being taken to a new page when
you open an email is a great
feature. Instead, the message
expands and shrinks right in the
fee. Hangouts is also better
organized in Inbox; you can have it
static on the right side of the
screen or you can toggle a drop
down. Either way you choose, it
looks a thousand times better than
Hangouts in Gmail.
Now for all of its great features,
there are a few things that don’t
work so well.
The biggest potential problem is
that, as the app is right now, you
can’t use email addresses that end
in something other than
@gmail.com. That means that I
can’t use my work email on Inbox,
which forces me to go to Gmail for
any work-related emails. This also
means that I get notifications from
two different apps for the emails.
There also isn’t any word on
whether Inbox will support POP3 or
IMAP, which is a feature Gmail 5.0
just got.
Another potentially problematic
feature is that there isn’t any way
to “select all” emails. Sure, you
can’t select all in the Gmail app
either, but on the desktop version
you can. On both the app and the
desktop version of Inbox there is
no “select all” tool. One other
problem is that you can’t drag and
drop emails on the desktop version
of Inbox like you can in Gmail, but
that is a minor problem for me.
I’ve done a little testing to see how
Inbox does in comparison to Gmail
5.0. I tested send and receive time,
as well as load time and number of
crashes per week. I conducted all
the tests on a stock Moto X on the
same Wi-Fi network to the same
email address. Check out the
charts* below to see how they
compare.
While Inbox is slightly slower and
crashes a little more often, I still
think it’s a worthy effort. It’s also
still early on for Inbox, and I am
looking forward to retesting after
the full release to see how it goes.
I can see myself using Inbox as my
primary email app as soon as they
support my work email. Until then I
am going to have to stick to Gmail.
What do you guys think? I’ve got
one invite left for a lucky
commenter.
AUTHOR :

image

Ambuli Victor

Leave a Reply

