Facebook’s Privacy Checkups Remind Users To Stop Posting Publicly

TechCrunch

Facebook has begun running a “privacy checkup” campaign that prompts users on the desktop version of the website to check that they’re sharing their posts with the right audience – for example, “Friends,” or some specific list, instead of just everyone. Users tend to report seeing this new pop-up appear when their privacy settings are currently set to “Public.”

The reminder, courtesy of screenshots found on various blogs including Slashgear and Sociobits.org, as well as on Twitter, reads:

Hi [name] – Sorry to interrupt. You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is Public, though you can change this whenever you post.) Learn more.

Who do you want to share this post with?

People started to notice the pop-ups at some point last week, when they received minor press coverage. (We’ve asked Facebook to confirm when…

View original post 379 more words

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s