President Obama Launches New Program “My Brother’s Keeper” to Help Young Black and Latino Men

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images

At an event that felt like a black church service at times, President Barack Obama spoke in deeply personal terms yesterday about growing up without a father and urged the entire country to get behind his newly-launched “My Brother’s Keeper” program to help young black and Latino men.  “I didn’t have a dad in the house and I was angry about it, even though I didn’t necessarily realize it at the time,” the president said of his childhood, with 20 black and Latino boys standing behind him in the White House’s East Room.

He added,”I made bad choices. I got high without always thinking about the harm that it could do. I didn’t always take school as seriously as I should have. I made excuses. Sometimes I sold myself short.”  But Obama said he was able to be successful because he had a mother, grandparents and teachers who would “push me…

View original post 823 more words

Leave a Reply

